Everything Else

One word: reflux

A quick post to say I am sorry I have been so quiet on here. I’ve not had a lot of spare time to knit or crochet and have had even less time to blog, or even read the blogs I follow.  And there is one main cause for this: reflux. I don’t know if many of you that follow my blog have experienced reflux, but let me tell you if you haven’t that it sucks.  My daughter thankfully never had any problems like this, but my son has had it since he was born.  Seemingly endless screaming, fussy when eating, very short naps (that’s when you can get him to sleep which some days is not at all) and pretty much the only perfume I have been sporting these days has been eau de vom. It is relentless. Difficult for parents, difficult for siblings, awful for baby. (I just want to put an aside here, that I know there are many children who are more poorly than my wee one, and many parents who are dealing with much more difficult circumstances than mine. My heart breaks for them and I have nothing but compassion and respect for those parents).

We have had good days, when he will sleep, but then you’ll find me running round like a headless chicken trying to do some housework/cook/shower…  What I am not doing is sitting on the couch with my needles or hook.  The knitting and crochet that I have managed since he has been born has been done at the weekend if my husband takes my children out for a few hours to give me a break.  Every day I plan to do some in the evening once the kids are in bed, but the reality is that it can take until 9 or 10 at night to get my son down, then it’s time for dinner (oh to be a parent who is organised enough to have prepared food to eat at 5) and bed. Which means no crafting is done. And don’t get me started on our sky box: the memory has been down to single figures on more than one occasion –  I don’t know about anyone else but it’s enough to bring me out in palpitations.

He was officially diagnosed by a paediatrician recently and has been started on some different medication, although unfortunately he is not a fan and tends to spit most of it out.  In sheer desperation I also tried going dairy free but the doctor suggested I re-introduce it to see if the medication works by itself – which might never happen if I can’t find a way for him to take it – any suggestions welcome!!  What has seemed to help has been a trip to see my local chiropractor a couple of weeks ago prior to the paediatrician appointment.  She found some tightness in his neck, spine and pelvis and has done some adjustments to loosen him off.  Since then we’ve had definite improvements with less screaming and more naps.  Which you would think would have left me more time to craft, but in reality has just meant I’ve been able to tackle the mountains of washing that we manage to generate seemingly every day (I swear it spawns itself when no-one is looking). As you can see from the picture above, when he’s not in pain, he’s a happy little monkey. So hopefully we are getting somewhere and I will have a more content baby going forward. Fingers crossed!

9 thoughts on “One word: reflux

  1. Thanks for the post! It’s nice to know you’re still out there even when you don’t have lots of knitting and hooking to show and tell. Good luck with the little man! He looks just about perfect.

    Like

  2. He’s so cute. Have you tried baby massage? it’ll get you both more relaxed. I used it for my son and it relaxed him (there are a few youtube videos on how to do it but I learned at a local class). It might relax him enough to take the medicine. Are you aloud to mix the medicine with a bit of milk? he might like the taste better. I wish I had better advice hopefully it’ll work out 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi
      Thanks so much for your ideas. I did baby massage with my daughter and have done a little with my son, but will maybe try some more. I’ve tried mixing it with milk too. He’s ok when it’s expressed milk but not formula (although will take formula at other times). So just need to find the time to express!! Thanks for your thoughts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. He looks like such a sweetheart; I’m so sorry he’s having problems with reflux. One of my nephews had reflux as a baby and started growing out of it once he passed his 1st birthday. My brother & sister in law gave him medecine (Zantac?) and lowered one end of his crib mattress, though he ended up being more comfortable in his car seat. I hope you find something that gives him more relief! Keep trying & hang in there: it will get better!

    Like

    1. Thanks – he is a sweetheart. We have good and bad days. He’s on a couple of different meds, one of which is zantac. And the car seat is a definite for naps!! Hopefully it will get better before he’s 1 – for my sake if no one else’s ;). Thanks for taking the time to comment :). Glad to hear your nephew has grown out of it x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment