Everything Else

Help Please!

I am looking for a bit of help/feedback. I don’t have a huge amount of time to dedicate to the blog so I’d like to make sure I am writing things that are the most helpful/interesting for other people to read. I originally started the blog as a follow-on from my Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/glasgowknitters for anyone interested!). I never really had an aim for it, other than for it to include information I myself would find useful, with the hope that other people would too. But now that my ability to write a post is entirely dependant on whether my son naps or not during the day (which is not always a certainty as he has bad reflux problems) I’d like to make sure that those posts I do manage to write are ones that people want to read. So I’m asking for a bit of feedback please. Do people tend to like reading posts on things I’ve been working on? Or those that contain a round up of classes across the UK (these are particularly time consuming but I thought were quite useful)? Or the reviews (pattern, events etc) that I’ve done? Any thoughts appreciated! Thanks!!

12 thoughts on “Help Please!

  1. I’m new to your blog, but I read everything you post (I just haven’t had time to go back and read the previous ones yet). Post what you think is helpful. And don’t worry that you don’t have that much time. Any in-depth posts that I do are often worked on in bits over days and sometimes weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, I’m Resti from Indonesia. In my humble opinion, you should make a schedule for the post, because your readers need it all. You could share projects that you’ve been working on and the reviews (pattern, events etc) that you’ve done, so your readers know about what you’ve faced and what you’ve thought. It would be useful, when they (particularly your readers who the advance knitter/hooker) do the same. Your post which contain a round up of classes across the UK would be important for the beginner knitter/hooker somehow. Sharing is caring~

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with both commenters, post anything that you find helpful and that you have fun writing about. Variety keeps things interesting, so a mix of topics is good. A regular schedule is always a good thing since that gives your readers something to anticipate, however, it doesn’t have to be all-consuming. Once or twice a week is enough, and then you could catch up whenever time allows it. Best of luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughts. I agree a schedule is good, but with a 3 month old and 2 and a half year old, it isn’t always feasible!! But I’ll aim to write a bit more regularly if I get the chance and have things to write about! Thanks for taking the time to respond 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Anything you post will be great! I have been attempting to post weekly on my blog, but what I’ve found helpful is to start a topic whenever I have a minute and then I can work on several as I have time here and there. I am trying to have three to work on, so that there’s time to edit and reword things over a week or two. My babies are all grown up now, so my time is easier to get; if blogging is your personal outlet, then give yourself the gift of 20 minutes daily for that, but don’t worry about us, those darling babies are more important!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I always love to know what people are working on, but I agree with the other commenters that you should write about what seems compelling to you at the time. Regular readers will follow along and enjoy it all. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! Glad it has been helpful. I desperately need to update my classes and events post but they are very time consuming and I’ve struggled to find the time. But I’ll do it soon I promise! In the meantime if you click on the links for any of the places listed, it should bring you to their current classes. There is one shop that is Aberdeen based (not the Highlands I grant you) but next time I do it I’ll look to see if there are any shops/events specifically in the Highlands. Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment