Works In Progress

A wee work in progress August 2015

On my Facebook page (Knitters in a Glasgow, East Ren & Beyond) I have a ‘theme week’ every month where I share free patterns according to a particular theme. So far I’ve done Spring, Father’s Day, Crochet for Kids and, most recently, Summer (for those of us who live in Scotland, you would be forgiven for forgetting what summer is this year. Just to clarify, it’s supposed to be the time of the year when the sun comes out, you can wear shorts and t-shirts (otherwise known as ‘taps aff’ weather if you live in glasgow) and umbrellas are not required). Anyway……. Searching for the summer patterns, I came across this gorgeous crochet bag pattern. I plan to do a pattern review for it, where I’ll share tips and a link to the pattern, but seeing as I have about 5 projects on the go at the moment, I’m unlikely to be finishing it any time soon. But it’s so pretty I just wanted to share a wee picture of it as it emerges.

image

The only issue I’m having at the moment is my choice of yarn. I’m using Drops Big Merino Mix. I have a slight obsession with Drops yarn. It was the first make of yarn I ever knitted with and, as such, it holds a special place in my heart (just me?). But my first ball of this one has been knot central and it is the bane of my life – so many ends to darn in which I am rubbish at (I undo them rather than work through them). I’m hoping I have just been unlucky and got a rogue ball, but in case I’ve not, does anyone have any tips/advice on how they deal with pesky knots?

image
I love the pattern – so pretty

I’ll share some photos when it is all finished. Probably in time for next Summer…. Aileen x

Leave a comment