Everything Else

Dying roses: please help!!

I am seeking some help. My sister got me some indoor rose plants for my birthday a couple of weeks ago, and despite watering them and putting them in sunlight, they are not doing so well.  The white roses especially are browning, dry and drooping. I’ve managed to keep my other house plants alive with a healthy dose of neglect. They get the occasional watering when I remember, which generally goes something like “whoops, haven’t watered them in a month or so. Better get on it”.  If I’m feeling particularly green-fingered, I also remove the dead leaves…

I think the roses might need a bit more tlc, except I haven’t got a clue what to do. So if any of you are at all green-fingered, please help!  Should I water them more?  Am I watering them too much?  What food do they need? Why are the red ones doing ok but the others aren’t? And what on earth does dead-heading mean?!

img_0039
All the petals on this one are browning
img_0041
This one is in the most dire need. You’ll notice the languishing orchid next to it. Another gift.
img_0042
These ones are looking better but I have no idea why!

On the same note, my friend got my son a young oak for his Christening.  I put it outside on the advice of someone but it too is looking a bit grim. I’m hoping that the leaves are brown cause it’s still technically winter… Is it salvageable or should I just buy another one and pretend that her one is flourishing?!

Thanks in advance for any tips!

img_0047
Looking a bit grim
10 thoughts on “Dying roses: please help!!

  1. We have plenty of flowers / plants but we are in no way experts, the weather right now is cold enough that I don’t leave them too close to the window, could that be your problem? of course there could be another 10 issues, just a thought though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t tell with the roses as whenever I have indoor ones they quickly die too 😦
    But the oak looks good to me as far as I can tell from the photo, young oak trees keep their leaves during winter just like on the picture (and the new leaves can appear even as late as in the second half of April, depending on the location and climate). Also I’m not sure if I see well but it seems to me that the oak already has small buds? You can also gently check the stem, if it feels fresh and flexible then it’s ok, if it died though you’d feel that it’s dry and easy to break.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! That’s really helpful. I’ll see whether it has small buds and check the stem too. Is there anything else I should do to keep it growing? I haven’t given it any food, and have just put it outside and hoped for the best!!!

      Like

      1. I’ve never tried growing oaks in the garden so I can only tell what I know from forestry practice: most important is not to let the root dry out (oaks don’t tolerate it too well – but then they also don’t like to grow in the bog of course) and while it’s in the pot, such pot should be big enough to let the root grow well. When you plant it in the soil in the garden (if you plan to do it), choose a rather sunny place – maybe not in full sun but certainly not in the shadow. And plant it to soil before or after vegetative season – if these are indeed fresh buds on your oak then it might be too late to do it (while it’s awake from its winter hibernation it can dry out easily during replanting) and you should wait with replanting it until autumn. While planting be careful not to harm the root. You should also keep the soil humid and may add some compost.
        And be aware that it may grow really big but it will take years;)
        Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. All the best with your roses and oak. I can not offer any help, but just hope they do grow still. I have had a few roses, both indoors and outdoors, and they did not survive as all. The indoors ones wanted to be outside in the fresh air and sunshine, only to be attached by bugs.
    I have a small fir tree in a pot that is growing very well, but it looks hardy and can take the strain. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

