Works In Progress

A new challenge!

I started knitting about 3 and a half years ago and in that time I’ve knitted countless scarves and hats, a couple of bags and blankets, and a few bits and bobs for my daughter, nieces and nephews. But there are three things that I’ve never attempted: gloves (the fingers are too daunting), socks (heels. That is all) and an adult jumper (I’ve always been too scared that I’d put all that effort in and it would end up looking, well, a bit crap). But I’ve decided that 2016 will be the year of challenges and overcoming some of those fears.

I bought my husband a King Cole knitting book for his Christmas – a completely selfless gift I’m sure you’ll all agree – and promised to knit him a jumper from it. We chose the yarn together – Drops Nepal which I got on offer from Wool Warehouse – and today I am making a start on it.

Part of my avoidance in trying such a big project is my knowledge that I get very excited deciding on a new project, even more excited buying the yarn and making a start but then can quickly lose interest after a few repeats.  But this is an Aran pattern with lots of lovely cables so I hope there will be plenty to keep me interested. I am determined to complete it but know that it will probably take me a few months to manage it. The question really is whether it would be cheeky to give him the finished product as his Christmas present next year?…

As I want to do it properly, I’m also going to do another first and actually – brace yourselves – check my gauge and knit up one of those squares.  (I am giving myself a self congratulatory pat on the back even thinking about it).

I’ll keep you updated on my progress in due course. Any hints or tips in the meantime are greatly appreciated!

6 thoughts on “A new challenge!

  1. Sweaters are definitely a challenge in the making, but the feeling of accomplishment when finished is amazing, even if they aren’t perfect. I have completed four adult sweaters in my years of knitting, and the last one truly fits, it is a joy to wear! The third gets used often, and the other two not so much, but what I learned from knitting them was worth it. Enjoy the process!

    Like

    1. Thank you! The sheer scale of it is a bit daunting but I’m looking forward to seeing how it all comes together. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed and benefited from all of them even if they’re not all worn regularly. Thanks for the encouragement! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

