Works In Progress

Finished Work March 2016: Hamilton Crochet Hat

I am still working away on the jumper for my husband, but in the interim I whipped up this hat for my friend’s 2 year old son.  I wanted something that was reasonably quick to do as I don’t get a huge amount of time to knit or crochet at the moment.  I also wanted a pattern that would give me the opportunity to practice a new technique. Most importantly, I wanted a finished product that would look nice and would actually be used (my friend had politely asked that I refrain from doing any dinosaur/bear/owl/themed hats for her son. No fun I say).  This hat delivered on all three!  It’s called the Hamilton Hat (click HERE for link to pattern) and was designed by the Sequin Turtle. Instructions are written for XS to XL. I did the medium hat and 10 rounds for the main body. It fit my friend’s son perfectly, with room to grow as there is some give in it.

It crochets up really quickly and, depending on how quick you crochet, could definitely be completed in a weekend if you dedicated a bit of time to it, possibly even in a day if you are a really quick crocheter.  It is definitely wearable and should be good to go with most outfits (absolutely crucial to a 2 year old, obviously).  And it kept me interested with a couple of different techniques to practice.

The crown is made up of hdc (American terms). The main body of the hat is achieved by alternating colours and working sc into the previous row’s dc and vice versa, so you need to keep your wits about you to know whether to sc or dc (well  I did anyway, but that could be due to the fact I am generally operating on about 5 hours sleep a night at the moment).  But the brim was the part where I learned something new.  To do it, you have to do some fpdc (front post double crochet) and bpdc (back post double crochet) stitches.  I had never done these before so took to youtube to learn!  It creates a textured, raised stitch pattern (see pictures below). My friend loved it and her son agreed to wear it, so that’s a bonus I suppose!

20160306_100248-1

 

20160306_100311

 

Leave a Reply

