About

It is really hard to write a snappy title. Calling all knitters and crocheters?!

Hi, my name is Aileen and I live in Glasgow with my husband and our daughter.  I started knitting as my brother in law bought me some yarn and needles for my 30th, and I quickly became hooked (no crochet pun intended. The crochet came later). As a not particularly creative person (seriously, my 20 month old can draw better than I can…) I really like how you can make some wonderful creations just by following a pattern. I get very excited when I start a new project to see how it will unfold. I get even more excited when I am buying yarn and am currently in danger of turning our living room into a veritable yarn shop…

When I first started to learn to knit, I went to a local knitting group which was fantastic for learning and meeting other like-minded people. But then I fell pregnant, we moved house, and then we had a small baby who took up most of our time! (I had also developed horrible carpal tunnel so had to have a break from crafting for a while). When I got back into it, I decided to set up a wee Facebook page as a place for knitters and crocheters to share tips, ask questions and show off their handy work (www.facebook.com/glasgowknitters for anyone interested!). I have really enjoyed doing the page. I try to find useful links and share patterns that I think other people will be interested in. Doing the page has also encouraged me to learn to crochet which I really love – a different skill from knitting but one I equally enjoy. And then someone suggested I write a blog (it’s par for the course these days, surely?!) so here it is! Thanks to Kath from the Facebook page who suggested the name. I will try to share handy links, let people know about events and share some patterns.  If I have knitted/crocheted a pattern myself, then I will share any tips I have. There might also be some of my knitting/crochet musings, but I’ll try to keep these short and interesting! If anyone has any suggestions for things they’d like to see then please let me know. I’d love to hear from you! Aileen x

My first knitted item - originally intended for my nephew but a touch on the small size!
My first knitted item – originally intended for my nephew but a touch on the small size!
Leave a Reply

